BREAKING: House passes bill to change the electoral college certification process; Here are the NINE Republicans who voted for it

The House just passed a bill to change the electoral college certification process all in the name of January 6th.

And nine Republicans voted for it. One of those Republicans, Liz Cheney, sponsored the bill.

The bill “would raise the numbers of objectors to a state’s electoral count from one member in each chamber to 1/3 of members in each chamber,” says CNN reporter Kristin Wilson.

Prevent future coups? Good grief. These people are sick. There was never any coup or insurrection.

As far as the electoral college goes, Congress had the say on which electors to go with – they always had the power to choose. Having alternate electors in some states was not even remotely a coup.

Here are the names of all nine Republicans who voted with Democrats to make this change:

Om case that tweet gets deleted, the names are:

• Liz Cheney
• Adam Kinzinger
• Peter Meijer
• Tom Rice
• Jaime Herrera Beutler
• John Katko
• Fred Upton
• Chris Jacobs

All familiar names. And as Kyle Stewart reported for NBC News, “none of those nine are returning to Congress next year, either because they lost primaries or are retiring.”

Now I guess it will go to the Senate where hopefully, it dies.

Comment Policy: Please read our comment policy before making a comment. In short, please be respectful of others and do not engage in personal attacks. Otherwise we will revoke your comment privileges.